About Tajikistan

The Republic of Tajikistan is located in the south-east of Central Asia. Its geographical coordinates are 36 ° 40 '- 41 ° 05' N and 67 ° 31 '- 75 ° 14' E. The area of the republic is 143.1 thousand km. The territory of the republic stretches from west to east for 700 km, and from north to south for 350 km.

The length of state borders is 3000 km. The administrative structure includes: Gorno-Badakhshan Autonomous Oblast, Khatlon Oblast, Sughd Oblast, Regions of Republican Subordination and Dushanbe.

Tajikistan is a mountainous country. About 93% of its territory is occupied by mountains, while about half of the territory lies at an altitude of over 3000 meters. Absolute altitude ranges from 300 to 7495 meters above sea level. Geographically, in the west wedged desert and semi-desert areas of the Turan lowland, which gradually move to the foothills, and in the east the territory of the republic adjoins the giant mountain ranges and plateaus of Central Asia - Tibet and Tien Shan. Such a geographical location causes a great variety of natural and climatic conditions.

The climate of Tajikistan

The climate of Tajikistan is rapidly continental, which is due to its geographical location within the continent of Eurasia on the edge of the subtropical and temperate zones. It should be noted, this is a mountainous country, where about 93% of its territory is occupied by mountains, 7% of the plain. Its characteristic features are high intensity of solar radiation, aridity, low cloud cover, long duration of sunshine, rapid fluctuations in daily and seasonal temperatures, uneven distribution of precipitation over seasons and considerable air dustiness. But these features are manifested differently in individual regions due to the peculiarities of the orographic arrangement and the diversity of the altitudes of the earth's surface.

In the cold season, the Polar Front is located above Tajikistan and Central Asia. Weather conditions are formed under the influence of dry cold air coming from the Siberian anticyclone, and moist warm air coming in the form of cyclones from the Atlantic Ocean.

Wide valleys and plateaus with altitudes of up to 1000 m are characterized by a hot long summer with an average July temperature of about 30° C with an absolute maximum of 43°-48°C. The frost-free period lasts 210 to 250 days. The summer drought is widespread. There is almost no precipitation In July, August, and September. Winter is short and mild. The average temperatures are from -2.5° to 2.0°C in January. In case of some events are happening sometimes, the invasion of the Arctic air brings a significant cooling.

Moderate climate is typical for the mountain ranges of Central Tajikistan and the Western Pamirs at an altitude of 1000-3000 m. There are a lot of precipitations in the cool summer, cold winter, the autumn, winter and spring periods.

High-altitude areas at an altitude of more than 3000 m are characterized by rapidly continental climate. A severe long winter gives way to a very short and cool summer. The average temperatures are 9.7°C in the Anzob Pass in July, at the Fedchenko Glacier 3.6°C,  -12.1°C and -17.1° C respectively in January.

Especially severe is the high-desert climate in the Eastern Pamirs. Summer is dry, short, but the winter is cold, little snow and long. The average temperatures are 13.5°C in the Murghab River in July and - 17.6° C and the absolute minimum is -47°C  in January. The lowest temperature was observed at Bulunkul station – 63°C.

Precipitation falls in winter and especially in spring in the republic, the number of which is very unevenly distributed in individual regions. There are rapid changes in the average annual rainfall - from a minimum level of less than 100 mm in the Eastern Pamir, to 500-600 mm in the valley of the Vakhsh River in the south, and a maximum value of over 2000 mm on the Glacier of Fedchenko.

Glaciers

Glaciers are a huge wealth of Tajikistan, because they are not only water storage facilities, but also regulators of river flow and climate. Glaciers and eternal snows of Tajikistan are the main source of the rivers of the Aral Sea basin. Glaciers occupy an area of 8,470,000 km², which is 6% of the country's territory. The main masses of ice are concentrated in the mountains of the Western Pamir.

The largest glacier in Tajikistan is the Fedchenko glacier. Its length exceeds 70 km, the average width is 2 km, the maximum ice thickness is 1 km, and the volume of the glacier with tributaries is 144 km³. It begins at an altitude of 6200 m above sea level. According to modern estimates, there are more than 8 thousand glaciers on the territory of Tajikistan, 7 of them have a length of more than 20 km.

 

Природа Таджикистана

Природа Таджикистана

Природа Таджикистана

Природа Таджикистана

Water resources

The rivers of Tajikistan are the main source of replenishment of the Aral Sea, they bring life to the downstream states and their use is the basis of cotton growing and hydropower.

There are several large catchment areas in the republic: the Syr Darya River (Northern Tajikistan), the Zeravshan River (Central Tajikistan), the Pyanj River (South-West Tajikistan and the Pamir), the drainage basin of brackish lakes of the Eastern Pamirs. The largest rivers of Tajikistan are: Panj, Vakhsh, Syrdarya, Zeravshan, Kofarnihon, Bartang. Most of the rivers of Tajikistan are mountainous, some of them originate at an altitude of over 3000 m.

Hot and cold mineral waters have become wide spread in Tajikistan. The most famous of them are Garmchashma, Lyangar, Anzob, Khoja-Obigarm, Sanghok, Yavroz, Shaambary, Tashbulak. Many of the mineral sources are used for medicinal, drinking and other purposes. Tajikistan is rich in lakes. There are more than 1300 lakes here, with 80% of them located at an altitude of over 3000 meters and has an area of less than 1 km². The total area of the country's largest lakes exceeds 680 km ².

The largest lake in Tajikistan is Karakul which is situated in a depression from the fall of the meteorite at 3,914 m above sea level. sea, located on the East Pamirs, the lake area - 380 km ², the lake water is salty. The deepest lake in Tajikistan is Sarez (3239 m above sea level), the depth exceeds 490 meters, the lake is fresh water, and the area is 86.5 km 2. The Sarez Lake is located in the Western Pamir, in the steep canyon of the Bartang River, formed as a result of a massive blockage that followed the earthquake in 1911. The volume of water in the lake's bowl exceeds 17 km.

Other important lakes are Iskanderkul, Zorkul, Yashilkul. Sometimes there are temporary lakes formed by glaciers or mountain landslides. In addition to natural lakes, there are artificial reservoirs on the territory of the republic: Kayrakkum, Nurek, Farhad and others.

Природа Таджикистана

Природа Таджикистана

Природа Таджикистана

Природа Таджикистана

The forest resources

Forests are state property and assigned to the forests of the first group in Tajikistan, where are aimed all forestry activities at preserving and improving their condition.

Forests of Tajikistan occupy an area of only 410 thousand hectares. The bases of forests are juniper (juniper) woodlands, common at altitudes of 1500-3200 m above sea level in the Gissar, Zeravshan and Turkestan ranges. junipers are good regulators of surface run off, preventing erosion processes in mountains and valleys, and  also storage tanks of CO2. Age juniper can reach 500 years or more.

Pistachios, well adapted to the hot and dry climate, occupy an area of 78 thousand hectares. The main massifs of pistachios are concentrated in Southern Tajikistan, at altitudes from 600 to 1400 m above sea level.

Nut forests are 8 thousand hectares and particularly demanding for soil and climatic conditions and they are distributed mainly in Central Tajikistan at altitudes of 1000-2000 m above sea level.

 The deferent deciduous species, a significant part of the forest covered area are occupied by maple forests of fragmentary poplar, willow, birch, sea buckthorn and various bushes - 44 thousand hectares.

Flora and fauna

Tajikistan is rich by Flora and diverse in composition. It has more than 5 thousand species of higher plants, more than 3 thousand species of lower plants and includes many endemic and rare species.

Tajikistan is characterized by high-altitude zonation of vegetation cover and geographical isolation of a number of plant communities. Vegetation is represented by the following main types of communities: broad-leaved forests, small-leaved forests, juniper forests, xerophilous light forests, thickets of shrubs, semi-arid deserts, semi-shrub desert, cushions, cochlea, semi-savannas, steppes and meadows.

The fauna of the Republic is also rich and diverse. There are 84 species and subspecies of mammals, 385 species and subspecies of birds, 46 species of reptiles, 52 species of fish, 2 species of amphibians, more than 10 thousand species of invertebrates inhabiting Tajikistan. A great variety of fauna species is largely due to the geographical location of Tajikistan within the continent of Eurasia and the variety of habitats, from the hot lowland deserts of Southern Tajikistan to the cold high mountains of the Western and Eastern Pamir.

Природа Таджикистана

Природа Таджикистана

Природа Таджикистана

Природа Таджикистана

Природа Таджикистана

О Таджикистане

Республика Таджикистан расположена на юго-востоке Средней Азии. Ее географические координаты: 36°40’ – 41°05’ северной широты и 67°31’ – 75°14’ восточной долготы. Площадь республики составляет 143,1 тыс. км. Территория республики протянулась с запада на восток на 700 км, и с севера на юг на 350 км.

Протяженность государственных границ составляет 3000 км. Административное устройство включает: Горно-Бадахшанскую Автономную Область, Хатлонскую Область, Согдийскую Область, Районы Республиканского Подчинения и г. Душанбе.

Таджикистан – горная страна. Около 93% его территории занимают горы, при этом около половины территории лежит на высоте свыше 3000 метров и 7% равнины. Абсолютные высотные отметки колеблются от 300 до 7495 метров над уровнем моря. В географическом отношении, на западе вклиниваются пустынные и полупустынные участки Туранской низменности, которые постепенно переходят в предгорья, а на востоке территория республики примыкает к гигантским горным хребтам и плоскогорьям Центральной Азии - Тибету и Тянь-Шаню. Такое географическое положение обуславливает здесь большое разнообразие природно-климатических условий.

Климат

Климат Таджикистана резко континентальный, который обусловлен его географическим положением внутри материка Евразии на грани субтропического и умеренного поясов. Следует отметить, это горная страна, где около 93% его территории занимают горы, 7 % равнины. Его характерные черты - высокая интенсивность солнечной радиации, засушливость, малая облачность, большая продолжительность солнечного сияния, резкие колебания суточных и сезонных температур, неравномерное распределение осадков по сезонам и значительная запыленность воздуха. Но эти черты проявляются различно по отдельным районам вследствие особенностей орографического устройства и разнообразия высот земной поверхности.

В холодное время года над Таджикистаном и Средней Азией в целом располагается полярный фронт. Погодные условия формируются под воздействием сухого холодного воздуха, поступающего из сибирского антициклона, и влажного теплого воздуха, приходящего в виде циклонов со стороны Атлантического океана.
Широкие долины и плато с высотами до 1000 м отличаются жарким продолжительным летом со средней температурой июля около 30°С  c абсолютным максимумом  до 43° – 48°С. Безморозный период длится 210 - 250 дней. Повсеместна летняя засуха. В июле, августе, сентябре осадков почти не бывает. Зима короткая и мягкая. Средняя температура января от -2,5° до 2° С. Но на происходящее, иногда вторжение арктического воздуха приносит значительное похолодание.

Умеренный климат  характерен для горных хребтов Центрального Таджикистана и Западного Памира на высоте 1000-3000 м. Здесь  прохладное лето, холодная зима, в осенне-зимне-весенний периоды много осадков.

Высокогорные районы на высоте более 3000 м отличаются резко континентальным климатом. Суровая продолжительная зима сменяется здесь весьма коротким и прохладным летом. Средняя температура июля на Анзобском перевале 9,7°С, на леднике им.Федченко 3,6° С, а января - соответственно -12,1° С и -17,1° С.

Особенно суров высокогорно-пустынный климат на Восточном Памире. Лето сухое, непродолжительное, зато зима холодная, малоснежная и долгая. Средняя температура июля в р/ц Мургаб 13,5°С, января - 17,6°С, абсолютный минимум - 47° С. Самая низкая температура наблюдалась на  станции  Булункуль  – 63° С.

Осадки, в целом по республике, количество которых весьма неравномерно распределяется по отдельным районам, выпадают преимущественно зимой и особенно весной.  Наблюдаются резкие перепады среднегодового количества осадков – от минимального уровня менее 100 мм на Восточном Памире, до 500-600 мм в долине реки Вахш на юге, и максимального значения свыше 2000 мм на леднике им. Федченко.                                          

Ледники

Ледники – огромное богатство Таджикистана, т. к. они являются не только хранилищами воды, но и регуляторами речного стока и климата. Ледники и вечные снега Таджикистана являются главным источником питания рек бассейна Аральского моря. Ледники занимают площадь 8470 тыс. км², что составляет 6% территории всей страны. Основные массы льда сосредоточенны в горах Западного Памира.

Самым крупным ледником Таджикистана является ледник Федченко. Его длина превышает 70 км, средняя ширина - 2 км, максимальная толщина льда - 1 км, объем ледника с притоками - 144 км³. Начинается он на высоте 6200 м над ур. моря, язык его находится на высоте 2909 м над ур. моря. Согласно современным оценкам, на территории Таджикистана насчитывается более 8 тыс. ледников, 7 из них имеют длину свыше 20 км.

Природа Таджикистана

Природа Таджикистана

Природа Таджикистана

Природа Таджикистана

Водные ресурсы

Реки Таджикистана являются основным источником пополнения Аральского моря, они несут жизнь в нижерасположенные государства и их использование является основой хлопководства и гидроэнергетики.
В республике выделяются несколько крупных водосборных бассейнов: река Сырдарья (Северный Таджикистан), река Зеравшан (Центральный Таджикистан), река Пяндж (Юго-западный Таджикистан и Памир), бессточный бассейн солоноватых озер Восточного Памира. Самыми крупными реками Таджикистана являются: Пяндж, Вахш, Сырдарья, Зеравшан, Кафирниган, Бартанг. Большинство рек Таджикистана - горные, часть из них берёт начало на высоте свыше 3000 м.

Широкое распространение на территории Таджикистана получили горячие и холодные минеральные воды. Наиболее известные из них - Гармчашма, Лянгар, Анзоб, Ходжа-Обигарм, Сангхок, Явроз, Шаамбары, Ташбулак. Многие из минеральных источников используются для лечебных, питьевых и других целей. Таджикистан богат озерами. Здесь насчитывается более 1300 озер, при этом 80% из них расположено на высоте свыше 3000 метров и имеет площадь менее 1 км². Общая площадь крупных озер страны превышает 680 км².

Самое крупное озеро Таджикистана – Каракуль, размещенное в углублении от падения метеорита в 3914 м. над ур. моря, расположено на Восточном Памире, площадь озера - 380 км², вода озера соленая. Самое глубокое озеро Таджикистана - Сарезское (3239 м. над ур. моря), глубина превышает отметку 490 метров, вода озера пресная, площадь - 86,5 км². Сарезское озеро расположено на Западном Памире, в крутосклонном каньоне реки Бартанг, образовалось в результате мощного завала, последовавшего за землетрясением в 1911 году. Объем воды в чаше озера превышает 17 км.

Другие важнейшие озера - Искандеркуль, Зоркуль, Яшилькуль. Нередко возникают временные озера, образованные ледниками или горными обвалами. Кроме естественных озер, на территории республики имеются искусственные водохранилища: Кайраккумское, Нурекское, Фархадское и другие.

Природа Таджикистана

Природа Таджикистана

Природа Таджикистана

Природа Таджикистана

Лесные ресурсы

Леса в Таджикистане являются государственной собственностью и отнесены к лесам первой группы, где вся лесохозяйственная деятельность направлена на сохранение и улучшение их состояния.

Леса Таджикистана занимают площадь всего 410 тыс. га. Основу лесов составляют арчовые (можжевеловые) редколесья, распространенные на высотах 1500-3200 м над ур. моря в пределах Гиссарского, Зеравшанского и Туркестанского хребтов. Арчовники являются хорошими регуляторами поверхностного стока, предотвращающими эрозионные процессы в горах и долинах, а также являются накопителями СО2. Возраст арчовников может достигать 500 лет и более.

Фисташники, хорошо приспособленные к жаркому и сухому климату, занимают площадь 78 тыс. га. Основные массивы фисташников сосредоточены в Южном Таджикистане, на высотах от 600 до 1400 м над ур. моря.

Ореховые леса составляют 8 тыс. га и отличаются особой требовательностью к почвенно-климатическим условиям и распространены, в основном, в Центральном Таджикистане на высотах 1000-2000 м над ур. моря.

Из других лиственных пород значительную часть лесопокрытой площади занимают кленовые леса - 44 тыс. га. Фрагментарно распространены тополя, ивы, берёзы, облепиха, саксаульники, разные кустарники.

Флора и фауна

Флора Таджикистана богата и разнообразна по составу. Она насчитывает более 5 тыс. видов высших растений, свыше 3 тыс. видов низших растений и включает множество эндемиков и редких видов.

Таджикистану свойственна высотная поясность растительного покрова и географическая изоляция ряда растительных сообществ. Растительность представлена следующими основными типами сообществ: широколиственные леса, мелколиственные леса, арчовые леса, ксерофильные редколесья, заросли кустарников, полудревесные пустыни, полукустарничковые пустыни, подушечники, колючетравники, полусаванны, степи и луга.

Фауна Республики также богата и разнообразна. На территории Таджикистана обитают 84 вида и подвида млекопитающих, 385 видов и подвидов птиц, 46 видов пресмыкающихся, 52 вида рыб, 2 вида земноводных, более 10 тыс. видов беспозвоночных. Большое разнообразие видов фауны во многом обусловлено географическим положением Таджикистана внутри континента Евразии и разнообразием местообитаний, начиная от жарких низинных пустынь Южного Таджикистана, заканчивая холодными высокогорьями Западного и Восточного Памира.

Природа Таджикистана

Природа Таджикистана

Природа Таджикистана

Природа Таджикистана

Природа Таджикистана